Getting bored of having to do stuff like this, both at work and play.

Many useful Mac apps still come in from places on the Internet OTHER THAN the Mac App Store.  This might be news to the boffins at Apple, but there you go.  This can cause problems at a user-level, where we end up with warning messages like these every time we try and start an installed application:

“xxxxxxxxxx” is an application downloaded from the Internet. Are you sure you want to open it?

AAAAAAAARGHH!  OF COURSE I want to open it! I installed it! I even used my Admin rights to move it to my Applications folder, and it’s been there for months, perhaps years! So quit telling me about this every time I open it!

Okay, chill, breathe, take your meds, it’s time to fix this.  Again, Google to the rescue, and I found a lot of people have been having this kind of issue since Lion.  I have to admit I’ve managed to not have it bite me or my pool of users in the bum at all, (except on first-use of the application, which is fine, because that’s all it needs) until Yosemite.  And specifically, Yosemite’s 10.10.2 point-release.  Ugh.

In all cases, people have reported general success by many sledgehammer-to-crack-walnut means, mostly by turning security and quarantine features off.  I prefer not to do that, so I much enjoyed the more fine-grained solution found here.  Not sure how it’ll work as apps get upgraded, but even if it needs redoing at this point, it’s better than being prompted every time I open an app I regularly use!

So, rather than rewording, I’ll quote D. W. Hoard’s words from his article (linked above):

The quarantine flag can be removed from files or applications that are already downloaded, without completely disabling the quarantine mechanism, by using the following command:

xattr -d com.apple.quarantine /PATH/TO/APPLICATION

A slight shortcut is to type everything up to the path (including the trailing space) in a Terminal window, then drag the desired application or file from a Finder window into the Terminal window, which will automatically paste in the full path to the application or file. If you perform this process using an Administrator account, then the quarantine will be permanently removed for all users on the same computer, regardless of the Administrator privilege level of their accounts.

Oh gosh, I had a horrible thought… it reminds me of the dark days of MS Vista…😮